I guess I’m moving

My Uncle Frank passed away the end of January.   That just leaves my Mom and her sister.  Shortly after Uncle Frank passed, my mom and I were talking.  She started talking about what would happen if my dad were to die before her.  She asked me if she could move in with me.  She said that she wouldn’t want to stay in Arizona by herself.  She would want to be closer to her last remaining sister.   I said sure, why not.  Little did I know it would be so soon.  About 6 weeks after Frank died, my father died.  So, about a week or two ago, my Mom mentioned it.  Could she move in with me.  Sure I said, but that means that I will have to move.  The girls and I live in a 2 bedroom place.  Also, it is on the second floor……not really good for Mom who has problems getting around.   So…….I am looking for a new place to live.  It will be different, living with my Mother again after all these years.  I think is will be good for her, good for me, and good for my girls.  They have only seen my Mom about 6 or 7 times since she moved to Arizona.  They were so young when she left.   So now, I am looking for a place to live.  A new place for my family to call home.

5 comments

  1. ccahill2013 · March 26, 2015

    Good for you. Your mom is lucky to have you to turn to. With an aging mom it is so important to have her close. I loved your ending. It shows that you are at peace with this decision and that it’s good for your whole entire family, not only for your mom.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lfitzgerald2015 · March 27, 2015

      The girls asked if we have to start eating dinner at 4pm (usually it is 9 or 10 pm) I said no, have lunch at 4 with grandma and then dinner as usual. 🙂

      Like

  2. sweathers21 · March 26, 2015

    “So now, I am looking for a place to live. A new place for my family to call home.” My favorite line. Not just a structure, but a home. A new definition of family, a new home to grow in love. All my best to you as you begin your new life re-living with Mom. What a neat experience!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. LSquared · March 27, 2015

    I hope you find the perfect place. My Mom moved in with me in November. We’d talked about it before, but I always figured it was a ways down the road. Then, the time came rather abruptly.
    She is a sweetie and I love her very much. Adjusting to each other’s life styles and sharing the kitchen space has had it’s ups and downs, but I am so glad she’s with me. She plans to visit my sister in Ashland for a few months so we have “a break.” I felt so insecure getting ready for her move — not knowing how to manage things and worrying something would happen on my shift.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. lfitzgerald2015 · March 27, 2015

    You know exactly what I am feeling. What happens if something happens to her while she is with me??? I know she will be more comfortable with me than with one of my brothers. Just will have to make the best of it. Good luck to you as well. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

