My running family

Last night, I got to meet up with my other family, my running family.  About 2 1/2 years ago, a good friend talked me into joining a running club.  For those of you who don’t know me, I am not an athlete.  Anyway, this running club is the best thing ever!

We meet up at a local pub, go for a run, and then return for drinks, dinner, and a great time.   There are weekly raffles, weekend “fun runs”, and some of us even meet up on off nights to run or just have fun.  We have even rented party busses to visit a state park, go the Chicago Bears training camp…..the list goes on and on.  After all, our motto is “a drinking club with a running problem”.

But, its not all about party time, there are also good works and volunteerism going on.  In the past year we have collected canned goods for a local food pantry, collected canned goods for Veterans, helped fill shopping bags full of food for a food drive for Veterans, held a bone marrow drive, collected funds for Cancer Research.

In the past year, we have celebrated new babies, weddings, mourned the loss of one of our runners during an end of summer fun run, mourned the loss of the child of one of our runners to an aggressive form of cancer.  If you are a turtle paced walker like myself or a marathon runner, this family of mine will welcome you with open arms (and a raised pint!)

 

 

4 comments

  1. nbressanelli · March 4

    Such a wonderful supportive group, your slice has me wanting to join you guys again, I just may this summer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lfitzgerald2015 · March 5

      We are having a Taco Tuesday themed month coming up soon. It will be based on Mokena if you are interested. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. ccahill2013 · March 4

    I love a running group that focuses on the social aspect of hanging out together and celebrating important milestones rather than running! I understand that you run – but the other stuff seems much more of the focus – which is so great!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. lfitzgerald2015 · March 5

    They are an awesome group… when I was in the hospital, they were constantly messaging me to see how I was doing. When I returned 8 weeks after surgery and could only walk the distance of the parking lot, they celebrated with me. Its like you said, we celebrated all aspects of life. Its not just about the running. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

