Testing Season

Testing season is upon us in Illinois and many other states.   This time of year is frustrating for me as well as my students.   I feel for them.   My special ed students are required to take their grade level test, even though they are preforming well below grade level.  We review the grade level work but often they just can’t remember how to do the work.  Or, they know how to do the work but are unable to complete the math problems without the assistance of a calculator or multiplication chart.   I wish I could help them but all I can do is offer them moral support….and maybe a piece of candy or two.  I just smile and remind them that this will be over soon and that Spring break is just around the corner!

6 comments

  1. helamin · March 6, 2017

    Moral support and a smile…sometimes that’s all you can give! And of course, the candy. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. livelovecoach · March 6, 2017

    the oxymoron to all of our differentiated instruction!…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. teachingbychance · March 6, 2017

    I am a SPED teacher in Illinois, and it breaks my heart to see them try to test at grade-level. Even with accommodations, it is extremely challenging. We can just keep cheering them on 🙂 Spring break is almost here!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. theapplesinmyorchard · March 6, 2017

    I agree with livelovecoach. We do with bother to differetiate when all are required to take the same test. Frustration abounds for the gifted studen as well, who feels unable to really show what they know when the test maxes out and they are performing above the standards. I feel for you and your students.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment