Things said today in room 56

**how old are you?

*I need to talk to you

*How come **** never does his homework?

* I can’t take this

*I need to leave this room

*I left my homework at home

*Did you ever have stitches?

*Did it hurt?

*Did you ever meet someone who gave a homeless man $1,000,000?

*Mrs. Fitz, she messed this up

*I’m going to buy a Bugatti

*I am going to move

*College is going to be hard (from a 4th grader)

*Can I draw?

Do you like this?

*Party!

*Don’t holler at me, I have to go to the bathroom again

*Can I clean my desk?

*Thanks for the feather

*I’m sorry.

It was very interesting to just sit back and listen to the conversations my students were having.  Happy Friday’s Eve!

5 comments

  1. rblwatkins · March 6, 2015

    What a great post! Sometimes I do the same in the mornings when the students are in the halls carrying on their conversations with each other. This made me laugh 🙂 thank you for sharing!

    Like

  2. onathought · March 6, 2015

    It’s so neat to listen isn’t it? Sometimes as I walk down the hall with students — especially after lunch, I wish I had a recording of all of the interesting and unique things people are saying. You’ve captured that here. 🙂

    Like

  3. hela124 · March 6, 2015

    It’s always interesting to see what kinds of things students bring up in conversation, especially when try think no one is listening. We learn so much about our students through their talk…and even ourselves as well. Nice slice!

    Like

  4. ccahill2013 · March 6, 2015

    Sitting back and listening. That’s something this writing challenge gets us to do. Such a great idea for a slice. I’m going to try that!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. englishbeat2 · March 7, 2015

    I love this! It was fun recognizing how kids say the same kinds of things… so glad to be reminded to listen!

    Like

Leave a comment