What does special ed look like?

A few months ago, I was showing a photo of my girls to an acquaintance.  I happened to mention that my older daughter has a learning disability and spent most of her school years in a special education classroom.  I mentioned how proud of her I am, that she is attending college now.  This person said, “She doesn’t look like a special ed student.”   Exactly how does a special ed student look????   I mean, I know that some disabilities are obvious.  But most are not.  It still bothers me to this day that she said that.  My daughter does not look like a disability.  She looks like my beautiful, hard working daughter.  I guess what I am trying to say is look beyond the disability,  look at the PERSON.

3 comments

  1. Kim K · March 13, 2015

    How infuriating! People sometimes just don’t think at all do they?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lfitzgerald2015 · March 13, 2015

    Not at all.

    Like

  3. LSquared · March 14, 2015

    I’m saddened by thoughtless comments about students, especially about those who navigate school with learning difficulties. Your person may have even thought she was saying something complimentary. Yikes! There is no point in pidgeon-holing any students. Every high need student I work with is completely different than the one sitting next to him.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment