How did I end up with a 21 year old?

“I’ll be right back” I told my boss. This was 21 years ago today.   I started work at 8am and had a doctor appointment at 9am.  I was 7 months along.  I figured I would be there and back in no time.  Little did I know, I wouldn’t be back for more than 3 months.  The doctor appointment did not go well.  They could not detect any movement from the baby.  I had to go to the hospital.  WHAT????   They did some tests and decided the baby had to come out RIGHT NOW!!!!   It was way to early.   How would it survive???   They had to do an emergency C-section.  My little girl only weighed 2 lbs 12 ounces.  She was so tiny. They couldn’t even keep her at the same hospital.  They had to send her to the NICU at another hospital.  I got to see her for a few brief minutes before the paramedics whisked her away, to save her life!  I would not see her for another 3 days, when I was released from the hospital.  She ended up staying in the hospital for an additional 6 weeks.  Today, she is a happy, healthy 21 year old.  My miracle baby is all grown up!

3 comments

  1. ldehaan1 · March 25, 2015

    OH MY Gosh, that had to be so frightening! She was so tiny! and not to see her for 3 days. OMG. So happy to hear she’s 21 and healthy! Where oh where does the time go?

    Like

  2. LSquared · March 26, 2015

    Well that was a HUGE small moment story. And quite a way to remember your daughter on her 21st birthday.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. lfitzgerald2015 · March 26, 2015

    Thanks!

    Like

Leave a comment